Fair Labor Standards Act Overtime Rule

Requirements by State

While the new Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA), overtime rule was put on hold, keeping the minimum salary requirement for White Collar Employees at $455 per week, several states have their own requirements.

California’s state law, for example, requires that exempt employees make at least twice the state minimum wage on a monthly basis. Consequently, the minimum salary for exempt employees who work for California employers with 26 or more employees increased this year.

Alaska also requires a minimum of twice the minimum wage, while New York is poised to implement a new minimum of $825 per week. Some other states require that exempt employee make at least the state minimum wage, which could eventually lead to a minimum exempt employee salary that is higher than the federal threshold, if it remains stagnant at $455 per week.

Concerned about the impacts in your state? Contact VPBS or get access to our HR Toolkit today!

By |2018-02-21T02:11:42+00:00January 23rd, 2017|Salaries and Wages|0 Comments

About the Author:

Tom Engel
Tom Engel has over 20 years of customer-facing, professional experience, in the areas of IT, human resources and marketing – with companies as diverse as Sage, Intel and Providence Health & Services. Tom works with a wide range of industries to include automotive, professional services, healthcare and transportation.

Leave A Comment